Searching for your perfect ski holiday

Secure online booking with total financial protection

Added to shortlist!
the French Alps specialist
Abta Certified No.W5537
Guardian Travel Awards 2014
  • Tour de France

Le Tour de France 2018: 7th July – 29th July

105th Tour de France

The Tour de France will be from Saturday July 7th to Sunday July 29th as the annual race enters its 105th edition. The race will consist of 21 stages, covering 3,329km in total.

The 2018 edition is made up of:

  • 8 flat stages
  • 5 hilly stages
  • 6 mountain stages including 3 altitude finishes (La Rosière, Alpe d'Huez and Saint-Lary-Soulan col de Portet)
  • 1 individual time trial 
  • team time trial
  • 2 rest days

New to the race: Out of 39 sites and stage cities, 9 locations are brand new for 2018

These include Fontenay-le-Comte, Mouilleron-Saint-Germain, Sarzeau, Dreux, La Rosière, Trie-sur-Baïse, Saint-Pée-sur-Nivelle, Espelette and Houilles. 


These stages pass close to several of the resorts offered by Peak Retreats:

  • Rest 1 Monday 16th July: Annecy
  • Stage 10 Tuesday 17th July: Annecy - Le Grand Bornand
    Starting in Annecy, this stage involves a climbing the Col de la Croix Fry, the Col de Romme and la Colombière, and finishes in Le Grand Bornand
  • Stage 11 Wednesday 18th July: Albertville - La Rosière Espace San Bernardo
    This stage involves a climbing the Col du Pré before reaching the Cormet de Roselend. This is followed by an 18km climb to La Rosière.
  • Stage 12 Thursday 19th July: Bourg-Saint-Maurice - Alpe d'Huez 
    Starting in Bourg-Saint-Maurice, this stage involves 21 bends that lead to l’Alpe d’Huez, followed by climbing the Col de la Madeleine, Lacets de Montvernier and Col de la Croix de Fer.

Download the Tour de France 2018 route map here


See the Tour de France! We still have availability in the following 4* self-catered apartments for the week commencing 14/7!

Prices based on 7 night stays with 4 people sharing a 1 bedroom self-catered apartment (sleeps up to 4).

Resorts near Rest 1 and Stage 10
We have several properties in Annecy for the start of Stage 10: Les Chataigniers, Hotel Imperial Palace and Le Royal. In Le Grand Bornard we offer Village de Lessy. Les Saisies and Notre Dame de Bellecombe would be good alternative resorts to access the finish at Le Grand Bornand or the start at Albertville, accommodation options include Le Hameau du Beaufortain, Chalets d'Emeraude, Residence des Armaillis and Le Village des Lapons.

Resorts near Stage 11
La Rosiere is a very popular destination where we offer several properties including Cîmes Blanches, Chalet les Marmottons and Les Balcons. Sainte Foy is just around the corner from La Rosiere so may offer a quieter alternative, our properties include Les Fermes de Sainte Foy, Le Ruitor and Etoile des Cîmes.

Resorts near Stage 12
Le Coeur d'Or is a great property in Bourg Saint Maurice. We also offer Les Chalets d'Arvan and Oree des Pistes in Saint Sorlin which this stage passes through. Vaujany is another alternative base at just 30 minutes' drive from Alpe d'Huez. Our properties in Vaujany include Le Crystal Blanc, La Cascade Les Epinettes, Le Grenier and Dome des Rousses

Helpful Information

You can view more details on the official Tour de France website:  

'Cycling in the French Alps' from publisher Cicerone is a helpful guide that may be worth acquiring if you're considering cycling this summer. 



Where do you want to go? 
Home | Summer Ski | Mountain Biking | Contact Us

Call our friendly team of experts on 
0844 576 0171

* indicates required
Which newsletters you would like to receive?